Euro T20 Slam Hosts – Ireland got the name in the list.

Euro T20 Slam Hosts

Euro T20 Slam Hosts have Ireland in the list which is one of the most beautiful countries in Northwestern Europe having more than 4.84 million population.

Like all other countries in Europe, Football is also very popular in Ireland. But cricket is also growing up in the country just as their neighbor who has many professional cricket counties. Of Course, I am Talking About England.

In March 2019, it announced about the European Cricket League 2019. After giving this league a new name, it also decided who is going to host this league.

Ireland has got its name along with other two hosts, Scotland and the Netherlands.

Later in April 2019, it was also announced that which city-based teams are going to take part in the tournament. There will be two official teams are going to take part in each country.

City Based Teams Representing Ireland

The Official Cities are going to represent Ireland in the league are:

  • Dublin
  • Belfast


city based teams dublin and belfast


There will be 33 matches in the tournament, and few of them will be playing in Ireland for sure, as the details of the venue are yet to be confirmed.

Cricket in Ireland

ireland cricket logo

Irish Cricket Union is an official governing body of cricket both in Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. It was formally funded back in 1923 by making up five provincial unions.

Ireland is a permanent member of International Cricket Council. They got their One Day International status in 2007. They also have started their career in a test match from 2017 and aiming for a professional team till 2020.

Irish crickets are going to have a high summer season this year as there will be a lot of cricket to play. Ireland Cricket Team has played 137 ODIs so far since they had played their first ODI in 2006. They have collected 60 win matches having 67 lose, with seven games with no results and three ties.

William Porterfield is currently leading Ireland both in ODI and Test and Paul Stirling is their T20 Captain right now. In ICC ODI ranking they are currently on number 12th and in T20 on 17th.

Just like any other department, women in Ireland are not behind in cricket. Ireland’s Women Cricket team played their first ODI in 1987 against Australia. They retain their Associate Membership with ICC since 1993 and become a full member in 2017.

Laura Delany is the current captain of the team, and Aaron Hamilton is the leading head coach. The women cricket team is currently holding the 10th position in current ICC WODI Ranking as well as in ICC WT20I ranking.

The girls have played 148 WODIs in which they won in 39 and got defeat in 103 and the remaining six matches with no results. In WT20Is they played 57 games in total and collected only 15 victories.


Cricket Grounds in Ireland

List of Cricket Ground in Ireland

Kilkenny and Ballinasloe were Ireland’s first towns where cricket started in the 19th century. Due to the popularity of the game, Ireland has begun building proper cricket grounds to fulfill the domestic and international needs of cricket.

Ireland has many cricket grounds for playing International Cricket Matches and domestic level games. Below is the list of current Men’s International Cricket grounds in Ireland.


List of International Cricket Grounds in Ireland

Grounds City First Used Capacity Test ODI T20I
Malahide Cricket Club Ground Malahide 11500 2013 1 12 6
Civil Service Cricket Club Ground Belfast 7000 2006 24 17
Clontarf Cricket Club Ground Dublin 3200 1999 22 1
Bready Cricket Club Ground Magheramason 3000 2015 5


civil service cricket ground overview

malahide cricket ground overview

bready cricket ground overview

clontarf cricket ground overview


Leave a Comment